

Press Release

from FöreningsSparbanken

April 5, 2001

FöreningsSparbanken's Annual General Meeting 2001

The Annual General Meeting of FöreningsSparbanken (Swedbank) in Stockholm on

April 5, 2001 approved a dividend of SEK 5.50 per share. The record date for the dividend is April 10. The scheduled dividend payment date is April 17, 2001.

The Meeting also approved the amendment to the bank's Articles of Association, changing the provision on the size of the Board of Directors. According to the amended Articles, the Board now consists of not less than 9 and not more than 12 members and one deputy.

Furthermore, the Meeting resolved that the bank, within its securities operations, may acquire its own shares on a current basis in order to facilitate operations. The decision, which applies until the Annual General Meeting in 2002, allows the bank to acquire its own shares at a price equivalent to the current market price at the time and to the extent that the total holding of such shares at any time does not exceed 5 percent of all shares in the Bank.

The Board consists of 12 members following the Meeting, one more than the Board previously elected by the Meeting. The following current members were reelected: Göran Ahlström, Göran Collert, Bo Forslund, Birgitta Johansson-Hedberg, Göran Johnsson, Birgitta Klasén, Kurt Lodenius, Per Göran Nyberg, Marianne Qvick Stoltz and Lennart Sundén. The new members elected to the Board were Thomas Johansson, Deputy Chairman of the Federation of Swedish Farmers, and Carl Eric Stålberg, President of JM AB.

Following the Meeting, the Board's presiding officers consist of Chairman Göran Collert, First Deputy Chairman Carl Eric Stålberg, Second Deputy Chairman Bo Forslund, President and CEO Birgitta Johansson-Hedberg, and Deputy President and CEO Nils-Fredrik Nyblæus.

The Board and Auditors following the Meeting are listed in the enclosed appendix.

For further information, please contact:

Göran Collert, Chairman, telephone +46 8 5859 1004 Birgitta Johansson-Hedberg, telephone +46 8 5859 1088



Olov Lydén, Secretary of the Board, telephone +46 8 5859 1566



The Board of Directors and Auditors of FöreningsSparbanken
AB/Swedbank

Annual General Meeting, April 5, 2001

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Göran Collert, Chairman
Carl Eric Stålberg, First Deputy Chairman
Bo Forslund, Second Deputy Chairman
Göran Ahlström
Birgitta Johansson-Hedberg, President
Thomas Johansson
Göran Johnsson
Birgitta Klasén
Kurt Lodenius
Per-Göran Nyberg
Marianne Qvick Stoltz
Lennart Sundén

Employee representatives Kaisa Bratt

Gith Svensson

DEPUTY MEMBERS

Nils-Fredrik Nyblæus, Deputy to the President

Employee representatives

Per Ekström Monica Hellström

AUDITORS

Auditors (elected in 1999 for four years)

Authorized Public Accountant Ulf Egenäs, Deloitte & Touche AB Authorized Public Accountant Torbjörn Hanson, Ernst & Young AB

Auditor appointed by the Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority

Authorized Public Accountant Peter Markborn, Arthur Andersen KB

Deputy Auditors (elected in 1999 for four years)

Authorized Public Accountant Olof Cederberg, Ernst & Young AB Authorized Public Accountant Jan Larsson, Deloitte & Touche AB