

PRESS RELEASE

www.billerud.com 2003-03-19

Nominations for Billerud Board

The Nominations committee of Billerud AB will propose to the Annual General Meeting of shareholders, to be held on 6 May 2003, that Gunilla Jönson and Mats Pousette be appointed as new members of the Billerud Board of Directors. This proposal has the support of shareholders representing around 25% of the votes in the company.

The following Board members will be proposed for re-election: Ingvar Petersson, Björn Björnsson, Per Lundberg, Meg Tivéus and Bert Östlund. Yngve Stade does not wish to be re-elected.

The Nominations committee for the 2003 AGM comprises: Sten L. Kottmeier, AMF Pension (Chairman), Björn Lind SEB Fonder and SEB Trygg Liv, and Lars Öhrstedt, AFA. Ingvar Petersson, the Chairman of the Board of Billerud AB, is the secretary and convenor.

Gunilla Jönson was born in 1943 and is the Dean of the Lund Institute of Technology, where she is Professor of packaging logistics. She is also a adjunct Professor, School of Packaging, Michigan State University, USA. In addition, Gunilla Jönson is involved in the work of research institutes and Boards connected with Lund University and a member of the board of Elanders AB.

Mats Pousette was born in 1952 and is the operating Chairman of the Board of Torda Ink Holding AS, a supplier of printing ink to the packaging industry. He is also the Chairman and owner of Involve Holding and Board member and owner of Å&R Carton AB, a packaging company. Between 1998 and 2001, Mats Pousette was the CEO of Åkerlund & Rausing.

Stockholm 19 March 2003 Billerud AB (publ)

Bert Östlund CEO

For further information, please contact: Chairman of the Nominations committee Sten L. Kottmeier, +46 70 352 98 78 Chairman of the Board Ingvar Petersson, +46 70-595 76 05