

Press release

Stockholm 29 November 2004

Karin Forseke: Appointment to the board of the Financial Services Authority (FSA) in the United Kingdom

Karin Forseke has accepted the appointment as a non-executive Director of the board of the Financial Services Authority (FSA). She will be acting on the board in a purely personal capacity. The appointment will take effect from 1 December 2004.

For further information, please refer to the enclosed HM Treasury press release, or contact Karin Forseke (+46 8 5886 90 10), or Birgitta Henriksson, (+46 8 676 86 39).

Carnegie is an independent Nordic investment bank operating in Securities, Investment Banking and Asset Management & Private Banking. Carnegie provides a wide array of financial products and services to Nordic and international clients from offices in eight countries: Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Luxembourg, Switzerland, the UK and the US.



I Horse Guards Road SWIA 2HQ

Press Office: 020 7270 5238 Fax: 020 7270 5244 www.hm-treasury.gov.uk

97/04

29 November 2004

NEW NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS OF THE FSA

The Financial Secretary to the Treasury Stephen Timms today announced that Karin Forseke and Michael Slack have been appointed Non-executive Directors of the FSA.

Mr Timms said:

"I am delighted to announce these appointments. Karin Forseke is a leading international investment banker who will offer a broad range of experience in capital markets and strategic and operational planning. The appointment of Michael Slack will bring a considerable knowledge of small financial services businesses to the Board as well as extensive experience in general insurance".

FSA Chairman Callum McCarthy said:

"I am delighted to welcome Karin and Michael to the Board. They will ensure that we continue to have a strong and varied Board with wide and relevant experience. I would like to thank Gill Nott, Shamit Saggar and Moira Black, who are leaving the Board, for all that they have done for the FSA in recent years."

Karin Forseke and Michael Slack will take up their appointments on 1 December 2004.

NOTES TO EDITORS

1. Biographical details:

Karin Forseke is CEO of D. Carnegie & Co AB, an independent Nordic investment bank. She was previously Chief Operating Officer of LIFFE and has extensive experience in different roles in financial markets in the US, UK and Sweden.

Michael Slack is Chairman of: Road Runner Motor Trade Ltd, Motor Trade Solutions Ltd, Road Runner Select Ltd, Liability Insurance Solutions Ltd, Self Drive Insurance Solutions Ltd, Temporary Cover Ltd. These will shortly be grouped in Fyfe Group Ltd. Mr Slack is also on the board of the General Insurance Standards Council, founder and Chairman of the Association of Insurance Intermediaries and Brokers (AIIB) and a member of the board of the British Insurance Brokers' Association (BIBA).

- 2. Gillian Nott, OBE, Professor Shamit Saggar and Moira Black, CBE, will retire from the Board on 30 November 2004 after six years' service.
- 3. The Board of the FSA is appointed by the Treasury in accordance with the rules of the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA).
- 4. Board members are appointed in a personal capacity and do not serve as representatives of particular interests or associations. A list of the current membership of the Board of the FSA is attached.
- 5. FSA Non-executive Directors are appointed initially for three years and are paid a fee of £22,500.
- 6. Media enquiries should be addressed to Will Straw at the Treasury press office on **020 7270 4420.**
- 7. Non-media enquiries should be addressed to the Treasury Correspondence and Enquiry Unit on **020 7270 4558** or by e-mail to <u>public.enquiries@hm-treasury.gov.uk</u>.
- 8. This press release and other Treasury publications and information are available on the Treasury website at <u>www.hm-treasury.gov.uk</u>. If you would like Treasury press releases to be sent to you automatically by e-mail you can subscribe to this service from the press release site on the website.

LIST OF BOARD MEMBERS: DECEMBER 2004

| Callum McCarthy | Chairman |
|-----------------------|--|
| Dame Deirdre Hutton | Deputy Chairman; |
| CBE | Chairman, National Consumer Council; Member of |
| | Better Regulation Task Force |
| John Tiner | Chief Executive, FSA |
| Clive Briault | Managing Director, Retail Markets, FSA |
| James Crosby | Chief Executive, HBOS plc; Non-executive Director, Granada plc |
| Tom de Swaan | Member of the Managing Board, ABN AMRO Bank |
| Karin Forseke | CEO, D. Carnegie & Co AB |
| Kyra Hazou | Formerly Managing Director and Regional General |
| | Counsel, Salomon Smith Barney/Citibank |
| David Kenmir | Managing Director, Regulatory Services, FSA. |
| Sir Andrew Large | Deputy Governor (Financial Stability), Bank of England |
| Professor David Miles | Chief UK Economist, Morgan Stanley, London |
| Hector Sants | Managing Director, Wholesale and Institutional |
| | Markets, FSA |
| Michael Slack | Chairman, Fyfe Group Ltd. |
| Hugh Stevenson | Chairman, Equitas Ltd; Chairman, Merchants Trust |
| | Plc |
| Steve Thieke | Chairman, RiskMetrics Group (USA) |
| Clive Wilkinson | Chairman, Birmingham Heartlands NHS Trust; |
| | Chairman, Midlands Industrial Assoc. |