

Södertälje, Sweden, April 6, 1999

PROPOSED MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF ASTRA AB

As announced earlier today, the merger between Astra AB and Zeneca Group PLC has been completed. As also announced previously, the Board of AstraZeneca PLC was appointed on February 18, 1999, and will be made up as follows:

Percy Barnevik – Non-Executive Chairman

Sir David Barnes – Executive Deputy Chairman

Håkan Mogren – Executive Deputy Chairman

Tom McKillop – Chief Executive

Jonathan Symonds – Executive Director, Chief Financial Officer

Åke Stavling – Executive Director, Business Development & Integration

Claes Wilhelmsson – Executive Director, R&D

Michael Pragnell – Executive Director, Agrochemicals

Dame Bridget Ogilvie – Non-Executive Director

Sir Peter Bonfield – Non-Executive Director

Karl von der Heiden – Non-Executive Director

Erna Möller – Non-Executive Director

Lars Ramqvist – Non-Executive Director

Marcus Wallenberg – Non-Executive Director

Astra AB is now a subsidiary of AstraZeneca. The Annual General Meeting must still make decisions regarding the Board and auditors and their fees. The following proposals will be placed before today's Annual General Meeting:



Re-election of Marcus Wallenberg and election of Tom McKillop, Jonathan Symonds, Åke Stavling, Claes Wilhelmsson and Göran Lerenius as members of the Board

Election of Deloitte & Touche as auditors with Bo Magnusson, Authorized Public Accountant, as the responsible partner.

No separate remuneration is proposed for the members of the Board of Astra AB. It is proposed that remuneration be paid to auditors for work carried out as specified in a separate account.

Contact persons:

Staffan Ternby, Vice President, PR & Information, Astra AB, +46 8 553 261 07 Mikael Widell, Press Officer, PR & Information, Astra AB, +46 8 553 264 28 Michael Olsson, Manager, Investor Relations, Astra AB, +46 8 553 259 52 Jörgen Winroth, Investor Relations U.S., Astra AB, +1 609 896 4148