12 January 2009

## The Crafoord Prize 2009

## **Polyarthritis**

On Thursday morning 15 January, at 08:00 am (Swedish time, GMT +1) the Crafoord Prize for 2009 will be announced. This year's discipline is Polyarthritis, which means arthirtis in several joints.

A press release and an illustrated popular science article will be sent out and scientific experts are available on telephone. Hopefully, the laureate/-s will also be available for interviews. These telephone numbers are given by the Press Officer at the Academy, see below.

The prize amount: USD 500,000

More information: www.kva.se and

www.crafoordprize.se

**Attachment**: Crafoord brochure with information on among others previous year's laureates.



## The Crafoord Prize

The Crafoord Prize is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences annually.

The prize amount of USD 500,000 makes the Crafoord Prize one of the world's largest scientific prizes.

Anna-Greta and Holger Crafoord's Fund was established in 1980 and the first prize was awarded in 1982. The prize is intended to promote international basic research in the disciplines

- Astronomy and Mathematics,
- · Geosciences,
- · Biosciences (with particular emphasis on ecology) and
- Polyarthritis (rheumatoid arthritis).

The prize in Polyarthritis is awarded only when scientific progress in this field has been such that an award is justified. The last time the Crafoord Prize was awarded in Polyarthritis was in 2004.

The disciplines are chosen so as to complement those for which the Nobel Prize is awarded. Further information: www.crafoordprize.se

Contacts: Erik Huss, Press Officer, phone +46 8 673 95 44, +46 70 673 96 50, erik.huss@kva.se

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, founded in 1739, is an independent organization whose overall objective is to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society. The Academy takes special responsibility for the natural sciences and mathematics, but endeavours to promote the exchange of ideas between various disciplines.

