

Trondheim, 2009-02-03

NEW BOARD OF DIRECTORS

A new Board of Directors was elected for Det norske oljeselskap ASA at the extraordinary general meeting in Trondheim on Monday February 2nd 2009.

Diderik Schnitler was elected new chairman. Jan Rune Steinsland, Marianne Elisabeth Johnsen, Marianne Lie and Hege Sjo were elected as new board members, while Ivar Brandvold and Tore Lilloe–Olsen were re–elected. The new board members were elected for a two–year period, while the two existing board members were elected for one year.

Elected new members to the nomination committee were Finn Haugan (leader), Erik Evjen and Berge Gerdt Larsen.

Attached is the presentation held by former chairman Kaare M. Gisvold.

About Det norske (DETNOR`):

Det norske is the second–largest operating company on the Norwegian Continental Shelf with 27 operatorship and interests in a total of 47 licenses. Det norske is the operator of the Frøy Field development and will also operate eight to nine exploration wells in the North Sea and Norwegian Sea during 2009. Det norske's scope of activities is limited to the Norwegian Continental Shelf (NCS).

Det norske currently employs a staff of more than 130, and the strong growth rate continues. The company's registered office is located in Trondheim. The company also has offices in Oslo, Harstad, and Stavanger.